First Listen: Norway's Spielbergs Release New Single "We're All Going to Die"

March 1, 2018 | by Jocelyn Hoppa


Here’s a band you should get to know and love. Oslo’s Spielbergs single release “We’re All Going to Die” — deliciously melodic guitar thrash coupled with themes of morality. What’s not to love about that? — from their upcoming EP will drive straight into your ‘90s Touch & Go heart.


Bands probably hate being compared to other bands, but immediately I’m reminded of Superchunk, The Promise Ring, Jawbreaker, or early Japandroids with some Mclusky grit. If any of these names are striking a chord, Spielbergs could be your new stuff.


The band is set to drop their debut EP Distant Star on April 27th via DIY label By the Time It Gets Dark (named after the Sandy Denny/Yo La Tango song). The Spielbergs consist of Mads Baklien (guitar, vocals, synth), Stian Brennskag (bass), and Christina Løvhaug (drums).


Distant Star EP Track Listing:

  1. We Are All Going to Die

  2. Daisy! It’s the New Me

  3. Ghost Boy

  4. Distant Star

  5. Setting Sun


You can pre-order the Distant Star EP at Bandcamp.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload



Keep our writers, editors, and illustrators happy, while helping with some of the usual and largely unavoidable overhead costs of running an independent publication.

Weekly Stuff

Please reload


July 17, 2019

Please reload

© 2017 - 2019 No Recess! Magazine, LLC. All rights reserved.